December 6, 2017

Cheyney’s Fine Art Honor Society Inducts 10 New Members

Cheyney’s Fine Art Honor Society Inducts 10 New Members

On November 16, 2017, guided by advisors Professor Marietta Dantonio-Madsen, Chair of Fine Arts, Design, and Liberal Studies, Professor Helena Domenic, and Professor Joel Keener, 10 students ranging from freshmen to seniors were inducted into Cheyney University of Pennsylvania’s prestigious Fine Art Honor Society (FAHS).

Congratulations to the 2017 Fine Art Honor Society inductees, who include: Veronica Lynn-Becerra, Rhonda Davis, Latisha Elliot, Frederick Goode, Charlene Hoffman, Khayla James, Vincent Miles Jr., Deisha Moore, Jamera Stanciel and Jazmyn Robinson.

Following their first meeting of the year, Fine Arts students began raising money with the intent that all their efforts go towards fees for memberships into the National Art Educators Association, one of the qualifications associated with induction into the FAHS. Students then initiated various fundraising efforts, and even put their artistic expertise to impressive use by creating masks to sell to the attendees of Cheyney’s annual Masquerade Ball (hosted by the Hospitality, Restaurant, and Tourism Management (HRTM) program).

On the night of the Masquerade Ball, art students reveled in the excitement of not only the evening’s activities, but having finally reached their monetary goal. Proceeds from their collaborative efforts helped all 10 students seeking induction this year successfully obtain memberships into the NAEA.

At this time, the Fine Arts scholars would like to thank all their advisors for their support. Additionally, they thank the campus community and other supporters that purchased candy, the masks that the student’s created and those that attended the Masquerade Ball. A special thanks is sent to Dr. Ivan Turnipseed, HRTM Program Chair, for agreeing to collaborate with the Fine Art students’ efforts in obtaining their memberships.

(Photo – from L to R: Rhonda Davis, Jazmyn Robinson, Veronica Lynn-Becerra, Deisha Moore, Charlene Hoffman, Jamera Stanciel, Khayla James, Vincent Miles Jr. and Frederick Goode).